The Cristo Rey – Doherty Library High School Intern Program

Cristo ReyThe Cristo Rey – University of St. Thomas High School Intern Program started in the 2010-2011 school year. Since then, Doherty library has employed 17 student workers through its Corporate Work Study Program. One student, Alfredo Islas, works here at the library since he was a high school freshman and he graduates this year. Alfredo is a Monday worker, so if you see him, wish him good luck, and congratulations as he graduates from The Cristo Rey High School in May.

Interview of Alfredo

Question: When did you start working here as an intern?

Afredo: I started here in 2011 as a freshman.

Q: How have you liked you job here?

Afredo: I have really enjoyed the people and the work.

Q: Do you prefer the bow tie or the tie?

Afredo: I prefer a tie since I don’t know how to tie a bow tie.

Q: What school do you plan on attending this fall or which schools have applied to?

Afredo: I am thinking of either going here to UST or the University of Houston-Downtown.

Q: What do you like to do for fun?

Afredo: I like to play video games, read Japanese novels, watch YouTube videos of people playing games, and when I feel being productive, practice my karate skills.

Q: Do you have any siblings?

Afredo: I have 3 siblings; I am the oldest of three siblings. I have a sister named Bianca, another sister named Jasmin, and the youngest being my little brother Georgia who is a “G.”

Q: Do you drive to school? Are you a safe driver?

Afredo: Sometimes when I don’t oversleep, and yes I am.

Q: Where have you traveled to? How was that experience like?

Afredo: I have traveled to Mexico, New York, and Italy. The experience was great since I was going to something different than my normal life.

Q: What are you going to miss about Cristo Rey? Doherty library?

Afredo: I am going to miss my friends and the teachers that I talk to on a daily basis at Cristo Rey. At the Library, I will miss the peace and silence when I shelve books, chilling at the computer lab, talking to Sylvia and Natalie along with all of the entire student workers, and just walking around campus. I will miss all the people I have met at Doherty library and remember all the fun times I have had. From all the jokes to the awkward moments I have experienced here, I will really miss it.

Leave a Reply

