Holiday Reading

Here’s what the Doherty Library Staff are reading over the Christmas Break

Ron Drees, Archivist

I plan to read Southern Storm: Sherman’s March to the Sea and learn about Sherman’s contribution to the Union victory. Also Among the Dead Cities, a moral review of the Allied bombing campaigns of WW II.

Pat Gerson, Acquisitions

I plan to finish Zoro’s Field: my life in the Appalachian woods by Thomas Rain Crowe, a Thoreau wannabe, who spent 3 or 4 years in a small cabin in the woods in North Carolina. A poet, associated with the San Francisco “baby beats”, he returns home to North Carolina and decides “you can go home again”. He refers to a nature writer Donald C. Peattie and I’d like to read his book Flowering Earth (1939) a poetic and philosophical description of plant life. He was apparently a widely read popular nature writer during his time and noted for his poetic writing. The library has several of his books but this is my first encounter with him. And lastly I want to read Studs Terkels’s memoir Touch and Go. Studs, who died recently at age 96, is the voice of Chicago, my former hometown, and I clearly understand his language. His books like Hard Times and Working are noted for their interviews with ordinary people about their lives. I usually like to read a children’s classic during the holidays, perhaps Anne of Green Gables or another by the same author Emily of New Moon. I’m looking forward to some very enjoyable reading this holiday.

Rev. George Hosko C.S.B., Inter-Library Loan Librarian

I am looking forward to reading Faith, Reason and the War against Jihadism by George Weigel. I need to be informed about the battle of ideas which are involved in this war.

Mary Kelleher, Reference and Instruction

I am in the middle of The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd right now (I’ve been meaning to read it for a long time and must do so before I can see the movie). When I finish that I plan to read Mr. Ive’s Christmas by Oscar Hijuelos. I don’t know anything about it really except that any person who’s mentioned that I should read it (and there has been several) has done so with a glowing face and a breathless “it’s the greatest book.” I always like to reread an old favorite during the slow, quiet days between Christmas and New Year’s, and this year I have a hankering for Paradise Lost. I’ve just read Milton’s “On the Morning of Christ’s Nativity” to prepare for Christmas.

Dale Stewart, Circulation Supervisor

I just started Survivor: A Novel by Chuck Palahniuk. If that goes fast I might also check out The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins. I’m sure either of these would make a great addition to anyone’s holiday reading list.

James Piccininni, Director

I am reading Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain by Oliver Sacks.   This book covers the psychological effects and physiological aspects regarding the brain and music, and it has succeeded at being both informative and interesting.  Oliver Sacks brought us Awakenings a nonfiction book about the use of L-DOPA on victims of catatonic  syndrome (the movie starred Robin Williams and Robert De Niro).  Not exactly holiday reading, so I’ll steer clear of Awakenings and instead reach for Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, by Vicki Myron.     

Leave a Reply

