databases

Database of the Month: Classical Scores Library

classical scores libraryThe library has a new subscription to three volumes of Classical Scores Library from Alexander Street Press. You can access thousands of musical scores in PDF format with your CELT ID.  Scores are indexed down to the movement level with advanced search options of work/opus#, key, genre, instrument, time period, and year of publication.  The database includes all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary.  Use the advanced search option to search across multiple volumes.

 

Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I contains over 400,000 pages of the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 musical scores. Classical Scores Library serves as an integral resource for music students and faculty, encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, appreciation, and theory for a variety of scholars.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume II is the follow-up to Alexander Street’s critically acclaimed Classical Scores Library and will bring together 200,000 pages when complete. It’s the first online score collection for libraries that’s composed mostly of in-copyright classical scores from major composers and editions. When curating the collection, editors targeted individual composers and composer collectives directly to ensure a strong resource for contemporary and previously unpublished works. The comprehensive collection contains full, study, piano, and vocal scores, and will provide valuable source material for teachers and students of music history, performance, appreciation, and theory.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume III brings together 400,000 pages of in-copyright editions when complete. This collection focuses on modern editions from major publishers like Chester Music, Novello and Company, Faber Music, Wilhelm Hansen, Donemus and more. It provides expanded coverage of great choral works and instrumental scores for brass, woodwind, and other instrument groups. The collection provides a wealth of material suited to supporting courses in music theory, music history, music literature, and composition.

Database of the Month: Learn a New Language for Free with the Mango Languages!

mango_logoLearning a new language is free for all UST students, faculty, and staff with the new Mango Languages database. Each lesson in the database combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions. The courses are presented with an appreciation for cultural nuance and real-world application that integrates components of vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar and culture.

There are more than 40 foreign language courses available and 16 English as a Second Language (ESL) courses.

To learn more about Mango and get a preview of what the program has to offer, stop by the library and we will give you an introduction. Or, click here to log in to Mango and start learning!

Mango's recording features help you match your voice to the correct pronunciation.

Mango’s recording features help you match your voice to the correct pronunciation.